Falling for Fall

Fall is here! Fall is here! Fall is here!

My favorite time of year has arrived, when I wake up to the smell smoky embers of extinguished fire pits and roasted hazelnut coffee. Thick socks, striped sweaters, blazers and boots, pumpkin bread, fireside chats, chilly mornings followed by sunny afternoons, rust-tipped leaves surrounded by a sea of yellow, purple and brown leaves, and the sight of leaves leaving their limbs to litter streets – just a few things that I adore about fall.

One of my first celebrations of fall was a walk around the scenic Lake Radnor, a lake originally named after the Radnor Yards. The leaves are just beginning to change colors and the degrees are dropping by the day, so it was the perfect time to take advantage of the beautiful weather.

I hiked the South Cove and Ganier Ridge Trails, two trails that follow the ridges of the hills surrounding the lake. One of the many things I love about Lake Radnor is the intimacy and friendliness of wildlife. While walking the Ganier Ridge Trail, I encountered a small herd of deer that were not afraid of approaching people and a rafter of turkeys pecking at fallen berries, plants and nuts, oblivious to my presence. (I apologize, my picture of the deer is a bit blurry; I was afraid to scare it off by using flash.)

What a beautiful way to kick off fall! Looking forward to baking some pumpkin bread, sweaters and socks, and diving into the throes of the college football season.

This entry was written by cclaibs and published on October 9, 2012 at 5:24 pm. It’s filed under Nashville and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

