Soilless Farming is Sexy: The Urban Hydro Project

I know my near-month absence from posting in inexcusable, but I hope you can understand what a wild March it has been. Between my trips to Baton Rouge and Chicago, work and breathing, I haven’t many chances to post. Okay, okay, I’m done with the excuses. We’re moving on to more important things: hydroponic farming.

In the last year, I began to understand the growing opportunity between making money and giving back to something greater than ourselves, i.e. social entrepreneurship. My first introduction to a globally conscious and profitable business was with Warby Parker. Very recently, Bruce Horovitz wrote an article featured in USA Today focusing on conscious capitalism by corporate companies such as Panera and Nordstrom, and he claims Millennials are the fuel to this fire. 

I couldn’t agree with Horovitz more. I love making purchases from companies with business models that support communities and find ways to make living life in a city more sustainable.

So what does this have to do with hydroponic farming? A few months ago, my roommate Sarah donated to a Kickstarter project in Nashville called the Urban Hydro Project. Every so often, the principal of the project dropped off a cup or two of basil on our doorstep in return for Sarah’s generosity. Sarah shared the project information with her mother, who also donated to the project. Eventually, Sarah and her mother became such involved supporters of the project, the owner of the company offered to cook a vegan dinner for six at our house – for free.

Stop rushing me – I am getting to the point!

Jeffrey Orkin, the man with the plan, started the Urban Hydro Project in Downtown Nashville. His (completely legal) grow room  is in rooftop room measuring a mere 135 square feet! This soilless technique promotes a more sustainable and local source of food. And folks, it is more affordable than the produce at any grocery store in the area.

Needless to say, Sarah and I are both fans of Jeffrey’s handiwork.

Here are a few photos from dinner a few weeks ago. And yes, our house is very small. We like it that way.

IMG_0709Soilless produce. Very sexy.
IMG_0718IMG_0714IMG_0719IMG_0736I now realize that most of my pictures are of the leafy greens and the salad. By the time we got to the main course (potatoes with red cabbage, lentils and pesto), I scarfed down my food and didn’t take any pictures of the dish. Whoops.

IMG_0733I had to include one last picture. Sarah and Judson are learning Romeo and Juliet for work, which means I see quite a bit of jousting and fake deaths lately. While we waited and watched our dinner preparation, Sarah and Judson jousted with curtain rods in our living room. I, luckily, caught a picture of Sarah in action. Enjoy.

IMG_0731

This entry was written by cclaibs and published on April 4, 2013 at 10:10 pm. It’s filed under Nashville, Social. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Soilless Farming is Sexy: The Urban Hydro Project

  1. I truly love your site.. Great colors & theme. Did you make this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my very own blog and would love to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

